I Am Rain That Was Meant to Pour

This is the kind of lonely song that comes from wearing my heart on my sleeve for one woman.

 I Am Rain That Was Meant to Pour

Only true love can truly hurt

It’s ours, but we don’t get any say

It tears us apart to remind us how close

We’ve grown day after day 

 

My bags are in the car

Paycheck’s telling me to go

And as I walk out the door, I know

I am rain that was meant to pour

   

I’ll unpack my heartache

And beat the sunset until it cries

I’ll hate myself for staring at the TV

Until my boredom finally dies

   

I’m giving all my secrets away

Like a busker on an empty metro quay

Now, just what was the last thing that you wore?

I am rain that was meant to pour

   

Memories are like a jester

That can only make people cry

This room couldn’t be more empty

And I’m bluer than the sky

   

We were made to hurt each other

We found all we ever wanted

But never looked for

And, I’m just rain that was meant to pour

© John R. Durant

About John R. Durant

Drawing on years fostering innovation in the high-tech industry, most notably at Microsoft, John is a principal researcher at Savvysherpa building new businesses.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to I Am Rain That Was Meant to Pour

  1. yaqin says:

Leave a comment